Rathcormac 4 Mile and Overall Summer Series Results 2019

Group rathcormac

Paul Cotter, Mike McGrath ( 1st M55) , Elaine Guinane and Mike Noonan

The Eagle AC Summer Series 2019 came to a close last Thursday night at the Rathcormac 4 Miler. Another great turnout with approx. 40 members taking part in the race.

First mention must go to Catherine Murphy who was 1st lady home on the night in a time of 25.51- her first race victory! Well done to Alan O Brien also who was 2nd M overall in a brilliant time of 19.53. There were a number of category prizes picked up by club members also – Michelle Traynor claimed first F35, Mark Smith 1st M35 and Mike McGrath, 1st M55. There were plenty of great runs and pbs by other members also. A mention to Daniel Luxton who ran his first official race for the club in his Eagle AC gear!


Alan O’Brien 2nd M

2. Alan O’Brien 19.53
4. Mark Smith M 20.50
18. Derek O’Keeffe M 23.54
20. Dermot Slyne M 24.15
23. Tom Fox M 24.26
28. Vincent O’Sullivan M 25.03
34. Mike McGrath M 25.44
38. Catherine Murphy F 25.51
39. Daniel Dransfield M 25.53
48. Finbarr Lehane M 26.18
49. Damian Kenneally M 26.18
54. James Quinlan M 26.29
56. Ray Harrington M 26.43
71. Richard Piotrowski M 27.20
72. Michelle Traynor F 27.24
80. Gary Gibbons M 27.40
92. Elaine Guinane F 28.03
93. Mark O’Keeffe M 28.03
96. Siobhan Holland F 28.09
98. Dermot Gallagher M 28.13
105. Cian Quigley M 28.43
108. Mairead Lonergan F 28.49
109. Denis Carroll M 28.55
113. Ken Nyhan M 29.10
125. Paul Cotter M 29.51
126. Michael Noonan M 29.57
130. Ken Higgs M 30.08
134. Olga O’Sullivan F 30.15
137. Michelle Cheung F 30.23
145. Denis Looney M 30.39
148. Marie Therese Brady F 30.43
155. Eddie Trindle M 31.16
164. Brian Hegarty M 31.31
173. Daniel Luxton M 31.55
190. Michael Dooley M 33.06
195. Dolores Gibbons F 33.17
228. Robyn Dransfield F 35.21
242. Jacqueline Slyne F 36.00
244. Evan Twomey M 36.02
245. Ber Looney F 36.04
Big group rathcormac

With the last race complete, the final standings for the series could be calculated! Claiming top spots this year were Catherine Murphy and Tom Fox , both of whom had very impressive performances throughout the entire series.

Tom prize

Tom Fox – Summer Series 2019 Overall winner

Catherine 2

Catherine Murphy – Summer Series 2019 Overall winner

Second overall were Karen Bevan and Brian McGuire, with Michelle Traynor and Daniel Dransfield claiming the 3rd spots. The male categories were won by Ray Harrington, Ruairi Egan , Ken Higgs and Richard Piotrowski with female category prizes going to Mairead Lonergan Elaine Guinane and Ber Looney. The prize for most improved times throughout the 2019 series went to Brian Hegarty. Great improvement Brian , well done!
On Saturday evening, prizes were presented to all winners. Plaques were also presented to all members who completed at least 4 of the 5 summer races. Thank you to Damian Kenneally for all of his work in both organising the series and in organising the very enjoyable awards night in the Old Oak.  See below for full results from the 2019 series.

Eagle AC Summer Series Results 2019

1st M – Tom Fox
2nd M – Brian McGuire
3rd M – Daniel Dransfield

1st F – Catherine Murphy
2nd F – Karen Bevan
3rd F – Michelle Traynor

1st M 40 – Ray Harrington
1st M 50 – Ruairi Egan
1st M 60 – Ken Higgs
1st M 70 – Richard Piotrowski

1st F 30 – Mairead Lonergan
1st F 40 – Elaine Guinane
1st F 50 – Ber Looney

Most Improved – Brian Hegarty

Photos thanks to Derek Costello

Eagle AC @ Kinsale 5 Mile, 2nd August 2019

Tom Kinsale

Tom Fox – 1st Eagle home and 1st M50

The 4th race of the Eagle Summer Series 2019 took place on Friday night in Kinsale at the Kinsale Regatta 5 Mile. There was another great turnout from the club with over 30 members taking part.

Tom Fox took the honours of being first Eagle home on the night, finishing in a time of 30.07. He was followed not too far behind by Dermot Slyne. Great to see Dermot back in the race results after a long layout with injury.

Dermot Brian Kinsale

Dermot Slyne and Brian McGuire

First Eagle lady home was Catherine Murphy who, when finishing in 32.42 also claimed a category win. Aswell as Catherine, Tom Fox and Mike McGrath also won their respective categories.

Catherine prize

Catherine Murphy – 1st F40

Mike prize

Mike McGrath – 1st M55

There were plenty of pbs recorded, too many to mention which is always a good sign!! It was also great to see a number of club members pacing fellow members on the night, helping them to achieve ( and surpass!) their targets. Well done all. Attention now turns to the final race of the series which is the Rathcormac 4 Mile on August 22nd.

Group kinsale

Count the Eagles!

Eagle AC Results
19. Tom Fox M50 30.07
22. Dermot Slyne M40 30.34
23. David O’Keeffe M40 30.54
25. Brian McGuire M50 31.01
30. Alan Bateman M40 31.45
36. Daniel Dransfield M 32.10
40. Ruairi Egan M50 32.34
41. Damian Kenneally M 32.38
42. Mark Smith M40 32.38
43. James Quinlan M40 32.39
46. Catherine Murphy F40 32.42
51. Mike McGrath M50 32.52
54. Karen Bevan F40 33.07
55. Glenn Kenneally M40 33.21
57. Ray Harrington M40 33.32
71. Elaine Guinane F40 34.39
74. Michelle Traynor F40 34.47
82. Siobhan Holland F40 35.09
87. Ken Nyhan M40 35.39
93. Mairead Lonergan F 35.44
101. Helen Cronin F 36.16
115. Michelle Cheung F 36.56
118. Paul Cotter M60 37.05
133. Ken Higgs M60 37.57
134. Eddie Trindle M40 38.03
148. Denis Looney M50 38.56
150. Andrew O’Farrell M60 39.02
166. Brian Hegarty M Eagle AC 40.05
188. Dolores Gibbons F40 41.55
226. John McCarthy M40 44:53
232. Robyn Dransfield F 45.12


(Photos thanks to Brian Kearney and John Quigley)