New Hampshire 5k


Adelle & Eugene O’ Connor and their 2 boys took part in the Alton Parks & Recreation 5k Road Race in New Hampshire on Saturday 12th August. They won 1st place for the family team prize under the team name ‘The Belgooly Eagles’. Well done guys!! …Tracy Cotter


18:07 18:35 18:58 ( 21:18) = 55:40
Darragh O’Connor M, Eugene O’Connor M, Eoghan O’Connor M, Adelle
O’Connor F


Club Notes…Fri 4th Aug 2017

eagle_notes2Club Notes…Edited by Karen Bevan

Evening Everyone

Well done, another great week of racing and another very well represented Ballycotton series 5 mile race. Plenty of you guys seem to be hitting your ‘happy pace’ these days so keep up the great running, you’re doing us proud and keeping us all inspired and motivated!

There was a great tempo session down at hop Island this evening, with about 12 members present and many thanks to Elaine Guinane and John Desmond for arranging this.


Con O’Donovan has some Pacing Slots open for the East Cork Harbour Marathon
If you would like to help pace the East Cork Harbour Marathon on the 12th August; 2.15 for the Half Marathon, please send Conn an email.

As always thank you to everyone who contributes to the weekly email, and a special thank to Keith Burke who has kept us up to date and informed for the duration of the tack and field season which it seems has reached an end for another year.

If you have anything that you would like to add please do let us know, we are always happy to hear from you!

Have a lovely Bank Holiday Weekend and happy running !

Continue reading

Sports First Aid Course…July 2017

Sports First Aid Course : Four members of the club recently completed a Sports First Aid course ….Ed Fitzgerald, Gerard Down, Gary Gibbons and Grace O’Leary.


The club paid for the four to do this course with the aim of having a pool of people who are trained in the use of a defibrillator and to have a basic understanding of first aid. We should have two more members completing another course soon which will give a total of six for the year.

Club results in the Churchtown South 5 mile road race…Thurs 27th July 2017

The annual Churchtown South 5 mile road race was held on Thursday the 27th of July and 25 members took part. We also had a number in the category prizes as well.

This was the third race of four in the Ballycotton Summer Series and we still have a number of members who have completed all three so far.


3rd F35 prize for Mairead Ryan

Ballycotton Summer Road Race Series 2017
CHURCHTOWN SOUTH ‘5’ Thursday 27 July 2017. 8:00pm

12 0:27:17 FOLEY, Vivian Eagle AC M45 05:27.3 6 12…2nd M45
19 0:28:35 O’CALLAGHAN, John Eagle AC M45 05:42.9 14 19
42 0:30:12 FOLEY, Colin Eagle AC M 06:02.3 28 42
43 0:30:14 O’CONNOR, Pat Eagle AC M45 06:02.7 20 43
47 0:30:26 FOX, Thomas Eagle AC M50 06:05.1 30 47…2nd M50
51 0:30:37 O’SULLIVAN, Vincent Eagle AC M 06:07.3 39 51
52 0:30:39 MCGUIRE, Brian Eagle AC M45 06:07.7 42 52
64 0:31:28 O’KEEFFE, David Eagle AC M 06:17.5 71 64
79 0:32:10 CASEY, Darren Eagle AC M40 06:25.9 69 79
90 0:32:33 BRISTOW, Chris Eagle AC M 06:30.5 57 90
110 0:33:28 DESMOND, John Eagle AC M50 06:41.5 86 110
134 0:34:10 DALY, Martin Eagle AC M40 06:49.9 550 134
168 0:35:09 RYAN, Mairead Eagle AC F35 07:01.7 548 168…3rd F35
181 0:35:42 SPEIGHT, David Eagle AC M45 07:08.2 113 181
210 0:36:54 O’CONNOR, Noel Eagle AC M55 07:22.6 137 210…2nd M55
252 0:38:10 QUIGLEY, John Eagle AC M60 07:37.8 207 252
255 0:38:13 LONERGAN, Mairead Eagle AC F 07:38.4 323 255
257 0:38:15 CORCORAN, Geraldine Eagle AC F40 07:38.8 310 257
261 0:38:25 O’CALLAGHAN, Deirdre Eagle AC F45 07:40.8 322 261…2nd F45
276 0:38:53 WALSH, Patrick Eagle AC M 07:46.4 712 276
277 0:38:54 ALLEN, Denis Eagle AC M50 07:46.6 156 277
291 0:39:23 MURPHY, Sean Eagle AC M 07:52.4 225 291
299 0:39:34 O’FARRELL, Andrew Eagle AC M60 07:54.6 181 299
353 0:41:36 MCCARTHY, John Eagle AC M 08:19.0 205 353
417 0:43:47 DONNELLY, David Eagle AC M 08:45.2 514 417

Race & Series results


2nd M50 prize for Tom Fox

Club Notes…Fri 21st July 2017

eagle_notes2Results from the Eagle AC newsletter…Karen Bevan (Newsletter Editor)

Hope you are all keeping well and running well.

A note of thanks sent in this week from John Dunphy ; ‘The Currabinny woods sessions are fantastic and a good turnout by members, pass on a big thank you to John Desmond and Ed Fitz for putting these on for the club”.

Always nice to hear positive feedback on events organised by the club.

This week brings the 3rd of the Ballycotton Summer series 5 milers in Churchtown south, which is one of our club targeted races, we also have plenty of Eagle’s running and pacing in the Killarney Half Marathon and 10K this Saturday, along with plenty of summer evening races to choose from, best of luck to all involved!

If you are running in any of the smaller summer races with no club results listed please do send on your results so that they can be included in the weekly email.

Enjoy the summer running and racing.

Continue reading

Niamh McCarthy wins Silver at Para Athletics World Championships


Congratulations to club member Niamh McCarthy who has just won a Silver medal in the F41 Discus at the 2017 Para Athletics World Championships in London! Back in 2015, Niamh who is from Carrigaline won a Bronze medal in the same event in Doha.

As can be seen from the results below, Niamh effectively secured the Silver medal with her first attempt.


Report on the Paralympics Ireland website HERE

RTE News report HERE