Eagle Athletic Club – A History


This account is based on my own work and the contribution of several club members. Important contributors were Pat Murphy, Denis Looney, Pat Twomey, Colin O’Herlihy and Joe Murphy, but special credit must go to former club member and long-time chairman John Quigley, whose contribution went a long way towards recovering information on the club’s history which was lost in 2014 when the old website, created in 1999, was deleted in circumstances which are unclear. The old site had been full of news, photos, history, videos, and all was lost.

The Early Years

The club was originally known as the Eagle Track Club upon its foundation in the Autumn of 1982. The three founding members were Fred and Sheila Gilbert and Mick Clancy. As stated by Fred Gilbert in an article in ‘Marathon’ magazine in 1984, the sole function of the club was then about training under-age athletes for track and field and cross country. Fred had operated earlier as a well-known coach with the juvenile section of St. Finbarrs Athletic Club. While Eagle TC had adult members from the beginning, their main role lay in coaching the juniors and juveniles. The club was based in the CIT (now MTU) track every Tuesday and Thursday evenings just as we still do today (lockdown allowing).

The following account of the early years of the club is based on several sources, including interviews with Joe Murphy, Pat Murphy, an article written by club member Paddy Lenihan for a book published by club member Colm Murphy in 1993, as well as my own researches. Unfortunately, Paddy was not very explicit in giving exact dates in his article and it is clear that his account spans the period from circa 1985 to 1993, though several references are not dated. As we shall see, the three founders left the club in 1988 leaving it in the care of a number of adult members who had been there from the first few years. These would go on to give many years of service, at least of fifteen years or more duration, some of whom remain members to this very day, 35 years later. This core group, responsible for developing and growing the club over many years, consisted of Liam Doherty, Pat Murphy, Joe and Ann Murphy, Denis Hegarty, Paddy Hegarty, Noreen Lenihan and her father Paddy, Monica Twohig, Hugh McSweeney, Ted Twomey, and Fidelma Kirwan.

Continue reading

Christmas Race Results Round Up!

Our members certainly kept themselves busy during the festive period as can be seen from the results below from various Christmas and New Years races. A great end to 2021 and a super start to 2022! Well done to all.

Parkrun Results

Christmas Day
25th December


  1. Siobhan Holland 21.55
  2. Niall McSweeney 22.16
  3. Richard Piotrowski 23.13
  4. Olga O’Sullivan 24.24
  5. Mike McGrath 24.44
  6. Andrew O’Farrell 25.16
  7. Denis Carroll 25.47
  8. Alan Wong 30.10
  9. Shane O’Rourke 30.40

New Years Day
1st January


  1. Damian Kenneally 17.25
  2. Shane O’Rourke 21.48
  3. Gary Gibbons 22.27
  4. Siobhan Holland 23.04
  5. Niall McSweeney 24.06
  6. Pat Twomey 24.46
  7. Elaine Guinane 26.59
  8. Olga O’Sullivan 27.01
  9. Tamara Lopez 27.02
  10. Dolores Gibbons 38.33

( Well done to our club members who acted as pacers for this run also.)

Glen River

1.Ken Ince 18.07

  1. Jack Murphy 25.01
  2. Alan Wong 30.29
Continue reading

Eagle AC Tommy Ryan Memorial 5 Mile Road Race – 20th February 2022

Eagle AC is delighted to announce the return of the 33rd annual Tommy Ryan Memorial 5 Miler in Carrigaline on February 20th 2022 at 11am.

The race will take place over the usual course. It’s a great route – some ups & some downs but overall, an excellent race! For a course preview please visit https://munsterraceroutes.blogspot.com/2013/01/cork001.html

We have a wide range of category prizes:

Male &Female 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th

Male & Female Teams 1st & 2nd

1st Wheelchair Male & Female

O35 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O40 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O45 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O50 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O55 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O60 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O65 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O70 M – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

We would like to thank the Edge Sports Shop for their ongoing sponsorship of this event.

Registration will be online only this year, there will be no entries available on the day.

Unfortunately, due to Covid restrictions we will also not be able to offer catering in the hall following the race.

€2 from every entry will be donated to Carrigaline Meals-on-Wheels, and Carrigaline Community Drugs Initiative. Please find all race & registration details on the link below.


We look forward to seeing you all in Carrigaline in February, and thank you for your ongoing support of our club event.

For any queries or questions about the race please contact eagleraces@gmail.com