Eagle AC Tommy Ryan Memorial 5 Mile Road Race – 20th February 2022

Eagle AC is delighted to announce the return of the 33rd annual Tommy Ryan Memorial 5 Miler in Carrigaline on February 20th 2022 at 11am.

The race will take place over the usual course. It’s a great route – some ups & some downs but overall, an excellent race! For a course preview please visit https://munsterraceroutes.blogspot.com/2013/01/cork001.html

We have a wide range of category prizes:

Male &Female 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th

Male & Female Teams 1st & 2nd

1st Wheelchair Male & Female

O35 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O40 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O45 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O50 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O55 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O60 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O65 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd
O70 M – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

We would like to thank the Edge Sports Shop for their ongoing sponsorship of this event.

Registration will be online only this year, there will be no entries available on the day.

Unfortunately, due to Covid restrictions we will also not be able to offer catering in the hall following the race.

€2 from every entry will be donated to Carrigaline Meals-on-Wheels, and Carrigaline Community Drugs Initiative. Please find all race & registration details on the link below.


We look forward to seeing you all in Carrigaline in February, and thank you for your ongoing support of our club event.

For any queries or questions about the race please contact eagleraces@gmail.com

Togher AC 5K – 27th December

Great to see the always popular, Togher AC 5k race take place last Monday in Cork City. 

The race had a field of nearly 500 runners and some excellent times were recorded by Eagle AC members, as can be seen from the results below. 

Ken Ince and Paul Cotter led the club home with 13th and 14th place finishes respectively. The guys have had some brilliant results recently and this race proved to be no different! 

Aoife Mahony was the first Eagle lady home with an excellent time of 18.46. Catherine Murphy finished not far behind with an equally impressive 19.08 run. 

No club names are listed in the results so please send us a message if we have missed any members. 

Well done to all! 

Togher AC 5K Results – 27th December

Ken Ince 16.38
Paul Cotter 16.46
Dave O’Keeffe 18.44
Aoife Mahony 18.46
Mark Murphy 18.53
Catherine Murphy 19.08
Pat O’Connor 19.08
Darren Casey 19.39
Finbarr Lehane 20.03
Jason O’Mahony 20.13
Niall McSweeney 20.35
Siobhan Holland 20.42
John Dunphy 21.01
Jack Murphy 21.10
Richard Piotrowski 21.42
Denis Carroll 21.48
Ken Higgs 22.51
Ian O’Brien 23.39
Paul Cotter 23.48
Denis Looney 23.56
Sean Lucey 23.59
Ber Looney 27.33
Alan Wong 30.04


Aoife Cooke @ European XC Championships 2021

Huge congratulations to Aoife Cooke who produced a very impressive performance last Sunday at the Spar European XC Championships 2021.

In a field full of Olympians and world class XC athletes, Aoife ran a very strong race, finishing in 38th spot overall, with a time of 29.15.

Her run also helped  to guarantee Ireland 4th spot in the team competition.

Aoife, as always, represented her club and her country with pride and we send huge congratulations from all at Eagle AC.

(Photos thanks to Derek Costello)

Eagle AC @ National Novice XC 2021, Gowran, Co. Kilkenny

Congratulations to John Goggin who represented both his club and county very impressively at Sunday’s National Novice XC Championships in Gowran Co. Clare. 

John’s time of 21.33 earned him 102nd spot overall in a field of well over 200 runners. The Cork team claimed 3rd spot at the event. Well done John! 


Vivian Foley @ Munster Masters XC 2021

A big congrats to Vivian Foley on his highly impressive performance at Munster Masters XC Championships in Clarecastle, Co. Clare, which were held on November 28th.

Viv was 6th overall in the Masters race and 1st M50 to cross the line. He was also the 1st scoring member of the Cork M50 team which claimed Gold in the team event! Well done Viv, a very worthwhile trip to Co. Clare! 


5th Place Finish for Aoife Cooke at National Senior XC

A very impressive 5th place performance for Aoife Cooke at the National Senior XC in Dublin today . A highly competitive race in which no less than 5 former Olympians were included.

Well done to Aoife, whose performance must have put her well in contention for a European XC spot. A big congrats also to fellow Cork woman, Michelle Finn who claimed victory in the race and earned herself an automatic qualifying spot.

For full results see – https://www.myrunresults.com/…/irish_life…/4258/results

Eagle AC @ Cork County Novice Masters XC 2021

It was a very successful day for the Eagle AC Men’s team at last weekend’s Cork County Novice Masters Cross Country Championships. The event was hosted by St Catherines AC in Dungourney.

Damian Kenneally lead the team home with a 5th place finish overall and Gold in the M35 category. The M35 team won 3rd place with Damian Kenneally, John Goggin, Ken Ince & Mark Smith in scoring positions here.

The M65 team finished in an impressive 2nd place with Ken Higgs, Pat Murphy and Joe Murphy making up the team. Other athletes involved today included Finbarr Lehane, John Sheehan, Donal Dowling, Raymond Harrington, Grellan McGrath and Andrew O’Farrell.

Congratulations to all who ran. It’s fantastic to see Eagle AC so well represented.

Race Win for Damian Kenneally at Blarney Half Marathon

A super morning for Eagle AC members at the Blarney Half Marathon today!

Despite the miserable running conditions there were some excellent performances, which included a race win, podium spots and 3 members in the Top 10!

Huge congrats to Damian Kenneally on his race win with a super time of 1.12.28. Very very well deserved.

Damian’s training partners Mark Smith and Ken Ince weren’t too far behind finishing in 3rd and 7th spots respectively with times of 1.15 and 1.17.

Some very impressive category placings this morning also – Tom Fox ,Brian McGuire and Pat O’Connor finishing 2nd,3rd and 4th M50, with Mike McGrath and Denis Carroll claiming the 1st and 2nd M60 spots.

Well done to all!

No club names were listed in the results so please let us know if we have missed any members.

(Photos thanks to Joe Anne photos )

1. Damian Kenneally 1.12.28

3. Mark Smith 1.15.11

7. Ken Ince 1.17.28

24. Tom Fox 1.25.55 ( 2nd M50)

25. Brian McGuire 1.25.58 ( 3rd M50)

28. Pat O’Connor 1.26.59

51. Mike McGrath 1.33.47 (1st M60)

76. Denis Carroll 1.38.16 (2nd M60)

The Return of the Big City Marathons!

Its been great to see the return of the big city marathons over the past number of weeks. And also great to see Eagle AC so well represented at many of them!

The month started with Tom Fox , Brian McGuire and Vivian Foley heading to the German capital for the Berlin Marathon.

Ray Harrington followed soon after when he took on the task of 26.2 miles around Rome.

The beginning of October saw Karen Bevan and Ruairi Egan heading to London with Siobhan Holland completing this race virtually around the roads of Ballincollig.

Finally, Dave O’ Keeffe, Catherine Murphy, Darren Casey and Gary Gibbons decided to take on the Belfast Marathon. The Belfast race also doubled up as the National Championships for 2021.

Some superb results and performances from our members at these races! Well done to all and we hope that the recoveries are going well!

Continue reading